Wednesday, December 31, 2008

12/28/08

Selena Gomez is hawt. Srsly lololol.

Okay, serious note. I'm bored New Years Eve. My parents have their friends over, and that means a night filled with obnoxious laughter and poor jokes. I'm probably going to go over to Chris' for a bit, and then maybe to my brother's friend's house. Either way, I'm sure I'll have a good night.

Monday, December 29, 2008

12/27/08

Omagawd. I just got done transitioning all the dates from my old calendar to my new one for 2009! HOLYSHITSOMUCHFUN!!!!

Bought a gym membership today. Chris and I went and worked out. Did squats for the first time in almost a year. Holy shit my legs hurt. I get to wake up at 6:30 and do it all over again, except this time with upper body! Woo!

P. S. Babies suck because they have the ability to pee in your eye.

Sunday, December 28, 2008

12/26/08: Get Published!

Going to be out tomorrow for our final family Christmas. Should be fun to sit around and eat, while taking a ton of naps. What I love most about this is traveling. Riding along in a vehicle is so relaxing. If I could, I'd just sit and do that all day. Maybe it'll be how I die. ANYWHO!

I have a great idea for a short story that I really want to get working on. Once it's finished, I plan on sending it off to a couple places to be published. Dunno where I'll send it yet, but I know I'm going to. Eeeek! Excited. 

Friday, December 26, 2008

12/25/08: WoW

I'm getting back into this game too much lol. I'm starting to have WoW dreams again, which I haven't had for MONTHS. Maybe even a fucking year. Definitely a sign that I'm sucked back into it. Thankfully I'm kind of taking it easy. To be honest, I just want to hit 80 and solo Onyxia. That's all I really care about right now. Pathetic, amirite?

12/24/08

Since I'm lazy and didn't do the days, I'm still going to make up for them. :)
Christmas was great, I guess. I got stuff, and that's all it's really about, isn't it? My parents have been inventive for what we get from "Santa" each year, and I totally plan on doing it when I'm a parent (if I ever become one). Last year they gave each kid $100. This year they gave us each 50, and a blank check for $25 to give to the charity of our choosing. I'm going to give it to one of the P4A charities that my subscriptions talked about. And who I choose will be totally random and based on the flip of a coin. :)

Monday, December 22, 2008

Sunday?

I guess I didn't post on Sunday. Thought for sure I did. Maybe my blogger has a messed up calendar? Testing.

Edit: There we go! I fuckin' fixed it. It's a Christmas miracle. 

Well, to the real point of this blog, I guess. I haven't spoken to a couple friends for a couple days, which I guess feels strange. Dunno if something's up, or if they're avoiding me, or what. Maybe I'm just paranoid. Going to go to bed soon. Have to get up early and work. Bleh. 

Sunday, December 21, 2008

O Fridur

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G-LTj5jC3Ns

This song is giving me the chills. Like all amazing Sigur Rós songs, I guess.

Besides the goosebumps on my arm, the song makes me think. Makes me think about all the thoughts and feelings I'm going through now. To be honest, I'm both scared and excited for this break. I hope I find what I'm looking for. So much will probably happen during it.

O Fridur

12/20/08

Not really. I'm three minutes late. I've been in the strangest mood all day. Sick, etc. Not fun. Le sigh.

Friday, December 19, 2008

P4A

Project for Awesome was this past Wednesday, and I did not participate. And for those of you who may not know what P4A is, it's when a bunch of nerdfighters try and "take over" YouTube with their videos promoting charitable organizations, etc. But more on the main point for this post:

Hayley and I were talking, and she suggested that I participate this year. I hadn't planned on it, and also didn't want to, seeing as how I feel that the whole project is sort of a joke. I let her know this, and we argued a little bit. I jokingly suggested that if she wanted to really see large sums of money donated, that she should offer to shave her head if $3,000 were donated. Obviously she said no. And just to be the dick that I am, I asked if her hair was worth more than the good all that money would do for those abused kids. She told me to shut up. :) I was sort of "inspired" by what she was saying earlier about it being for a good cause, etc. so I told her that if she could find me a good, well-known charity and a website that I can use to track how much money has been donated, that I would shave my own head for $450 donated, and that I'd also donate $50 out of my own pocket. Sadly, she did not respond to my request. 

Truth is, people are selfish . . . I've got $100 in my wallet from selling my books back to NDSU (yeah, they cost me close to $400). What am I going to do with this money? Not give it to charity, of course! What if I gave it to someone else? Will they give it to charity? Course not. Hardly anyone would. And that is why I believe that "movements" like Project for Awesome get nothing done. Like Joe said on the subject: "People only want to seem like they care." The majority of the subscribers that watched those videos posted on Wednesday did nothing. They don't want to come to YouTube and be told about the world's problems. They want to watch a funny video, or--as John Green said--watch Turkish soccer (I think he said Turkish). 

Take a look at Charlie and Alex. They offered to shave their heads for (I believe) cancer research. The money they raised probably wouldn't have been even close to that of the amount of money if their video had just said, "Donate for cancer research here. Kthxbai." (Which is the essence of every P4A video.)

. . .

I'm sure a lot of the people that made videos did good on Wednesday, but they didn't change the world. They have hardly changed anything. 

Why toss the starfish back into the water if it's just going to end up back on the beach?

__________________________________________________________

Yeah, I know I'm going to Hell.

Thursday, December 18, 2008

The Union

*extended sigh*
Today's my last "final" (it isn't really a final at all), and I've decided to hang out in the Memorial Union for a large chunk of the day. I'm going to miss this place (and no, not just for their AMAZING chocolate chip scones). It's so relaxing in here. The ambience is lovely when writing. I've done a majority of Vanishing here . . . I'll probably end up coming here randomly during my 8 month long break to write. 

____

Yeah. Eight. Months. That's a long time. I was talking to Bryn the other day and they brought up the fact that I haven't had that long of a break since before starting school as a child. But it isn't even a break, is it? I'll still be tied down with all the joys of work and household chores. 

I think everyone envies those who are able to get out of the cycle. Others are just content with how their life, and the lives of others, set up: Born, School, Work, Married, Kids, Retirement, Death. To be honest, I think that sounds boring. I'm going to try my hardest to do my "own thing," which isn't even my own to begin with. 

Speaking of society, I've got a final now. Ciao! 

Wednesday, December 17, 2008

Me Love Foooood

I've got wild rice soup, squash with brown sugar, chips, and a coke. And minutes ago I was complaining to Hayley about how I feel fat. Hm, I wonder why? 

P. S. Squash and sweet potatoes are seriously the BEST THINGS EVER. THEY TASTE SO GODDAMN AMAZING. 

Tuesday, December 16, 2008

Take A Bow

I've been listening to this song over and over again all day. It's one of those songs where I've listened to it once and not really liked it, forgotten about it, and then been turned on towards it through some means. And in this case, it's through the newest Watchmen trailer. 

http://www.apple.com/trailers/wb/watchmen/

The graphic novel for this was amazing in pretty much every way. And I'm sure the movie will be amazing too. However, I don't think it'll do so well. People will go to it and expect a ton of action, etc. but it's more of a mystery story. And that's fine with me.

P. S. Joe and Leah? If you read this? You need to freaking read Watchmen. Lyk nao.

Monday, December 15, 2008

Four Minutes

Four minutes to post a blog. Gabby reminded me. What a whore. But she does win at life, so thanks Gabster. And no, I don't fail. 

Tomorrow is my American Lit 2 final, and I'm probably going to do really poorly on it. Going to get to bed early, wake up and make some French Toast, and then go there and fail at life. Wish me luck!

Sunday, December 14, 2008

Goals and Gifts

My parents are having me make up a Christmas List, and it makes me feel a little dirty. I strongly dislike Christmas and birthdays. Just the whole concept of gift-giving and cards and forced happiness just feels wrong. =/ 

Anyways, back to the main point of my post. Goals. Since I'm taking this semester off of school, I figured I'd set some goals for myself (ya know, make sure I don't slip into the darkness?). So this is what I want to do:

- Travel. I want to visit Iceland this summer, probably go to LeakyCon, and maybe take a Scones tour of the world. I want to fucking meet Joe, dammit! 
- Read. I want to read a ton, since video games will try and consume my life. I want to read a book a week. 
- Write. I want to write a ton, also. Meaning that I'll probably try and write 1,600 - 2,000 words per day. 
- Exercise. Depending on if I get a gym membership or not, I'm going to try and work out daily as well. 

Wish me luck!

Fuck 2.0?

Technically I missed a day. Oh well. I was busy as fuck today:
Woke up to the sounds of texts from various people.
Ended up going to Village Inn with Bryn for breakfast, then headed to Concordia for a Lord of the Rings movie party. Met some of his college friends, and they seemed really cool. Ate a good pizza.
Came home, showered (yes, I didn't shower until 3 PM), went to a LAN at another friend's house. Ended up playing random TFT custom games for 7 hours. Was a lot of fun.

AND GAWD. I forgot to bug Joe all day today during his ACT. =/ Sorry, Joe.

Now I'm going to go to bed. Goodnight, e-world.

Thursday, December 11, 2008

Fuck

Life sucks when you can't make people feel just as good as how you feel about them. If that makes sense. 

Friday, December 5, 2008

Death

Last night I was musing about how everyone seems to glorify death. You always hear things like "It's just another path we must take" or "It's a new beginning." 

These aren't true. We expire. And that's the end of it.

At least that's what I believe. 

Tuesday, December 2, 2008

Words

My old blog, which will not be deleted, had a list of books that I wanted to own in the future. I think I should start a word bank in this vlog.

Apricity - The warmth of the Sun in winter.

Precipice - The brink of a dangerous situation. (Which is the name of a song I wanted to use while writing my fantasy novel. Lulz.)

Saturday, November 29, 2008

Change

My grandfather has apparently been a racist his whole life. I've never seen any direct proof besides his use of the word "nigger" whenever he retells his old war stories. 

Anyways, my family made sure to bring up the fact that Obama won the election a couple times--in order to get a reaction. I never heard one negative word out of him, and his last statement was this:
"I hope he does well in there."

That's all the change I need.